Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sun Is Also a Star

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!

Title: The Sun Is Also a Star 

Author: Nicola Yoon 
Release Date: November 1, 2016



Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? (taken from goodreads.com)

Why I Need It: 

Yeah, I know, it's another doomed romance, but come on. How can you say no to that brightly colored cover? Huh? I'm sure Natasha and Daniel will sweep us away with their romance, right? *fingers crossed* 

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Glitter

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!

Title: Glitter

Author: Aprilynne Pike 
Release Date: October 25, 2016



From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.

Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.

Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.

But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret—falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls—is one risk she has to take. (taken from goodreads.com)

Why I Need It: 

"Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world?" ... Well, we certainly have something new here, don't we? I feel like this could either be incredibly original and interesting, or it could jump the shark. What do you guys think? 

Monday, June 20, 2016

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses  
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 
Author: Sarah J. Maas  
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children 
Publication Date: May 15, 2015 
Format: Hardback 

Page Count: 416

Rating: 


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! (taken from goodreads.com)



Now, before you guys start freaking out, please prepare yourself for the shock of the next statement: before reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, I had never picked up a Sarah J. Maas book. I know, I know, I'm ashamed. With her ever-rising superstardom in the YA genre, you'd think I would have already read one of her hugely popular novels. 

I've read quite a few contrasting reviews about this book. Some felt that the plot was slow and that Feyre's character was a failed Katniss-wannabe. Others simply adored Tamlin and his fairytale land, stunning good looks, and gorgeous manor. My opinions fall somewhere in-between the two thoughts. Yes, Feyre has her issues. She's fairly immature, self-centered at points, and her skill with a bow and arrow definitely reflects a bit of Hunger Games inspiration. However, I didn't hate her. She grew as the novel progressed, and her character definitely didn't hinder me from enjoying Maas' story. 

I've always been a huge fan of fantastical other-worlds as a plot setting. From Narnia to the world of faeries in this novel, it doesn't take much to make me fall in love with a magical world. I'm also a huge fan of political schemes, so the various courts and relationships in the faerie world intrigued me. I hope to see further development of the faerie world in the sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury

As for Tamlin and the romance... meh. I've heard so many readers say that Tamlin was swoon-worthy and that the romance was passionate. Passionate it may be, but well-developed? I'm not so sure. As much as I tried (and trust me, I did try), I never truly fell head over heels for Tamlin. Even the most romantic scenes left me wanting. 

The take on Beauty and the Beast definitely interested me, and I was glad to see that Maas takes it in a new, more original direction. You can clearly see the fairytale's storyline underlying the new plot, but the tale was still entertaining and unpredictable. Two thumbs up when it comes to Maas' style of retelling. 

So, I've expressed both positive and negative opinions on Maas' second series. As I turned the last page, I tried to tie my thoughts together into a cohesive opinion. Overall, I really did enjoy A Court of Thorns and Roses. It was original and entertaining, even if I didn't love the characters as much as I thought I did. 


(I had to use a Beauty and the Beast gif, right?) 
My first experience with Maas' work was a good one, and I'll definitely be checking some of her other stories out soon. 

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: For This Life Only

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!

Title: For This Life Only 

Author: Stacey Kade
Release Date: August 30, 2016



A young man struggles to move forward after the death of his twin brother in this gripping, coming-of-age tale about loss, redemption, love, and the moment you begin to see the world differently.

Three minutes.

Jacob Palmer died for three life-changing minutes.

And when he woke up, nothing was the same. Elijah, his twin brother, is dead, and his family is broken. Jace’s planned future is crushed, along with his pitching arm. Everyone keeps telling him that Eli’s in a better place, but Jace isn’t so sure. Because in those three minutes, there was nothing.

Overwhelmed by guilt and doubt, Jace struggles to adjust to this new version of the world, one without his brother, one without the certainties he once relied on. And then Thera comes into his life.

She’s the last girl he should be turning to for help.

But she’s also the first person to truly see him. (taken from goodreads.com)

Why I Need It: 

Okay, I'll admit that I mostly picked this one because of the cover. SO PRETTY. I just know that once I buy a copy, I'll be running my hands all over it wishing I could feel the different levels of the image. As for the story, well, we all know I'm a sucker for romance and tales of redemption. Guys, I think this one is gun be good *giggles and claps*.